Skip to content
Messaging Agents

Muse vs Town

These two are not in the same thread. Muse reaches you inside WhatsApp, Town inside iMessage and SMS, so for most people the phone decides this before anything else does. After that it is one person's assistant against one that joins the group.

Muse is for

Somebody who already lives in WhatsApp and wants one agent handling their own things, on a computer of its own.

Town is for

A group text that needs an assistant in it, where each person has their own and they talk to each other.

Muse

Meta's personal agent, reachable inside WhatsApp, running on a cloud computer of its own

WhatsAppWeb
Posted doing a job
70
public posts, each on the listing
Of those, went wrong
1
fewer is better; people post successes
Posts for it, against it
12 / 2
of 21 public posts about it; the rest mixed or neither
Town

A per-user agent that joins your group text and talks to other people's agents

iMessageSMS
Posted doing a job
1
public posts, each on the listing
Of those, went wrong
0
fewer is better; people post successes
Posts for it, against it
0 / 0
nothing posted yet

Muse and Town, side by side

They differ on getting in, trust and who runs it; a dot marks each row where they do.

MuseTown
Getting in
Where do you text it?WhatsApp, Web.iMessage, SMS.
How do you start?Create an account.Create an account.
Does it work on Android?Yes, over WhatsApp, Web.Yes, over SMS.
Is there an app to install?Optional app: an app exists but is not how you start.No app: nothing to install at any point.
Who starts the conversation?Messages you first.Messages you first.
Price
What does it cost?Free to start, with paid tiers.Free to start, with paid tiers.
Trust
Does it train on my messages?Yes, with opt-out.Qualified statement.
What does it hold to log in for me?Holds a surrogate, never the secret for connected accounts; a security contact is published.Holds a scoped token for connected accounts; a security contact is published.
What happens to my messages?Carried by Meta.Who carries them is not published.
Does it publish about its security?Yes, a page of its own. its pageYes, a page of its own. its page
Can it phone people?It does not call.It does not call.
Who runs it
Who is behind it?Meta, Menlo Park; funded.Town.com, Inc.; funded.
How is it funded?Publicly listed company, no venture round$18M seed led by First Round in March 2025, then a $55M Series A in June 2026 led by Andreessen Horowitz with Forerunner, Alt Capital and Conviction. Reported on 3 Sep 2026 to be raising $90M at a $1B valuation co-led by Forerunner and Menlo Ventures, which Town has not announced.
What it can do, on its own pages
TravelYesNot stated
Task managementYesNot stated
Persistent memoryYesNot stated
Writing codeYesNot stated
Group threadsNot statedYes
Talks to other people's agentsNot statedYes
DocumentsNot statedYes
BothEmail, Calendar and scheduling, Bookings and reservations, Payments, Web research.

What people got Muse and Town to do

71 public posts of either agent doing a specific thing for somebody, counted by the job; each is on the listing with the post behind it.

Muse Town
Published posts of each agent doing something, counted by the job they belong to.
Sightings by job
JobMuseTown
Something you are owed300
Booking140
Buying120
Research60
Your inbox50
Group coordination11
Reminders and follow-up20

What people say Muse and Town saved or got back

Every dollar figure somebody attached to a post about either agent. The figures are theirs, unverified, and never added up here.

Muse

24 posts with a figure9 got back14 saved1 earned

Town

No post about Town names a figure.

  1. $3,500saveda year, car insurance re-shopped and the old policy cancelledMuseJoe Devoy2026-09-10
  2. $2,200got backmoney he was owed, found and claimed after one instruction to search for anyMuseSpencer Hakimian2026-09-23
  3. $2,120.95got backsix items in one tallyMusearmand2026-09-15inside Meta
  4. $1,920savedover 24 months, fibre internet at two homes, plus $10 a month flagged for autopay and paperless billingMuseJason Luongo2026-09-16
  5. $1,800saveda year, auto insurance re-shoppedMuseAZ Jedi2026-09-14
  6. $1,750got backunclaimed property for a father-in-law, plus $120 a month off his billsMuseThe Money Educator2026-09-10
  7. $1,200saveda year, a forgotten $100-a-month subscriptionMuseIdobn2026-09-09
  8. $1,156saveda year, car insurance re-shoppedMuseJason Luongo2026-09-15
  9. $1,026got backa United credit after a fare dropMuseYair Savlevi2026-09-10inside Meta
  10. $954got backfrom California in a day, and $897 more for his wifeMuseEric Allen2026-09-11
  11. $800got backunclaimed property across every state lived in, overMuseLincoln2026-09-10
  12. $700savedan insurance cancellation sorted by phone, with a follow-up call promisedMuseFrank Chien2026-09-16inside Meta
  13. $300savedoff a WiFi billMuseNate2026-09-16
  14. $200got backa Verizon gift card promised at signup and never claimedMusebittermelon2026-09-17
  15. $200got backfrom an airline after a delay, by emailMuseCrux2026-09-14
  16. $200earnedin gift cards so far, from demos it bookedMusekanha korgaonkar2026-09-13
  17. $189.37got backan airline claim plus a goodwill request, filedMuseBaptiste Dubois2026-09-15
  18. $180saveda year off a Verizon Fios billMuseTodd Saunders2026-09-25
  19. $130saveda month, a Verizon bill from $516 to $386MuseWilliam Geronco2026-09-15
  20. $85.30saveda month for five years on an Xfinity billMuseraunaq2026-09-16inside Meta
  21. $50saveda hotel credit it found, on top of a direct rate he says was 5 to 10 per cent cheaper with free cancellationMuseVivek Goyal2026-09-23
  22. $50saveda month, an AT&T fibre bill from $80 on the 500 plan to $30 on the 1000 plan for 24 months, plus three months freeMuseNo Saber Ni Papa2026-09-15
  23. $40saveda month off an $80 AT&T fibre bill, plus three months freeMuseChandra Bhavanasi ⛷2026-09-14
  24. $5saveda month, a Poke subscription it singled outMusedp2026-09-15

What separates Muse and Town

Most head-to-heads here turn on what a product can do. This one turns on where it is, because the two do not meet. Muse is reachable inside WhatsApp, which Meta owns and Meta built it for. Town is in iMessage and SMS. Whichever of those your friends already text you in is most of the answer, and the rest of this is what you get once you are there.

Where it lives, and who owns the room

Muse sits in WhatsApp and on the web, and the company carrying those messages is Meta, which is also the company that makes the agent. Nothing else in this directory has that shape: every other listing rents its channel from somebody else. Town is in iMessage and SMS and names no carrier at all, which is the more common position here and a less comfortable one to read about.

One person, or the thread

Muse is filed under assistant and is built around you: your inbox, your calendar, your bookings, on a cloud machine allocated to you. Town is filed under group, joins a thread with other people in it, and gives each person their own agent that can talk to the others' agents. They are answers to different questions rather than better and worse answers to one.

What it costs, and which half is published

Town publishes the whole ladder: free forever at 30 chat messages a month with every integration included, then $15 a month, then $49 per user billed annually, then $99, with credits included and overage pay as you go. Muse says free for most of what people need with subscription plans above it and names no figure on that page, and its chief executive has put the free tier at 100 million tokens a week. One of them you can budget for.

Who trains on your messages

Muse states an opt-out and points at a switch in its settings. Town's answer is qualified: it says it does not use Google user data to train models, which covers the accounts you connect and leaves your conversations with it unaddressed. Neither is silent, and they are not answering the same question.

Who is behind it

Muse is Meta, a public company with no venture round to announce. Town is Town.com, Inc., which raised an $18M seed led by First Round in March 2025 and a $55M Series A in June 2026. That difference sets the clock on both: one has to show a business eventually, the other has a parent that can carry it.

What it asks of you, and what it promises back

Muse publishes an approval control, naming emails and purchases as the things it confirms before acting, and holds credentials so the agent itself never sees them. Town publishes no approval statement here, and its credentials are delegated through the accounts you connect. Both publish a security page, which puts them in a small minority.

There is no app to install for Town. Muse has one and does not require it.

What people say about Muse and Town

Muse

Praise
12
Mixed
4
Complaints
2

21 public posts about it, 3 neither for nor against.

  • “That's the most careful consumer agent sandbox I've used.”

    DJ Sampath, 2026-09-26

  • “Generally impressed that you can just do anything - it's not limited or watered down like I would have imagined”

    Wes Bos, 2026-09-24

  • “So Meta hands every Muse user a free server. Who else is willing and able to do such a thing!?”

    Andrew Freedman, 2026-09-19

Town

The same products, against others

See every agent compared or answer five questions to narrow it yourself.