Skip to content
Messaging Agents

dots vs Muse: which AI assistant to text

Two agents with a cloud computer of their own, from two of the largest companies here, launched three weeks apart. They meet you in different rooms: dots inside ChatGPT, Slack and Teams, in a plan from $100 a month, and Muse inside WhatsApp, free to start. Which of those you already live in settles most of it.

dots is for

Somebody already paying for ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium whose working day runs through Slack or Teams.

Muse is for

Somebody in the US or Canada who lives in WhatsApp and Instagram and wants to start without paying.

dots

OpenAI's always-on agents, each with its own cloud computer, reached in ChatGPT, Slack and Teams

SlackWebVoice
Posted doing a job
0
public posts, each on the listing
Of those, went wrong
0
nothing posted yet
Posts for it, against it
0 / 0
nothing posted yet
Muse

Meta's personal agent, reachable inside WhatsApp, running on a cloud computer of its own

WhatsAppWeb
Posted doing a job
71
public posts, each on the listing
Of those, went wrong
2
fewer is better; people post successes
Posts for it, against it
12 / 3
of 22 public posts about it; the rest mixed or neither

dots and Muse, side by side

They differ on getting in, price, trust and who runs it; a dot marks each row where they do.

dotsMuse
Getting in
Where do you text it?Slack, Web, Voice.WhatsApp, Web.
How do you start?Create an account.Create an account.
Does it work on Android?Yes, over Slack, Web.Yes, over WhatsApp, Web.
Is there an app to install?Optional app: an app exists but is not how you start.Optional app: an app exists but is not how you start.
Who starts the conversation?Messages you first.Messages you first.
Price
What does it cost?From $100 a month.Free to start, with paid tiers.
Trust
Does it train on my messages?Qualified statement.Yes, with opt-out.
What does it hold to log in for me?Holds a surrogate, never the secret for connected accounts; a security contact is published.Holds a surrogate, never the secret for connected accounts; a security contact is published.
What happens to my messages?Who carries them is not published.Carried by Meta.
Does it publish about its security?Yes, a page of its own. its pageYes, a page of its own. its page
Can it phone people?It does not call.It does not call.
Who runs it
Who is behind it?OpenAI.Meta, Menlo Park; funded.
How is it funded?Not checked yet.Publicly listed company, no venture round
What it can do, on its own pages
DocumentsYesNot stated
Calendar and schedulingNot statedYes
Bookings and reservationsNot statedYes
TravelNot statedYes
BothEmail, Payments, Web research, Task management, Persistent memory, Writing code.

What people got dots and Muse to do

71 public posts of either agent doing a specific thing for somebody, counted by the job; each is on the listing with the post behind it.

dots Muse
Published posts of each agent doing something, counted by the job they belong to.
Sightings by job
JobdotsMuse
Something you are owed030
Booking014
Buying013
Research06
Your inbox05
Reminders and follow-up02
Group coordination01

What people say dots and Muse saved or got back

Every dollar figure somebody attached to a post about either agent. The figures are theirs, unverified, and never added up here.

dots

No post about dots names a figure.

Muse

24 posts with a figure9 got back14 saved1 earned

  1. $3,500saveda year, car insurance re-shopped and the old policy cancelledMuseJoe Devoy2026-09-10
  2. $2,200got backmoney he was owed, found and claimed after one instruction to search for anyMuseSpencer Hakimian2026-09-23
  3. $2,120.95got backsix items in one tallyMusearmand2026-09-15inside Meta
  4. $1,920savedover 24 months, fibre internet at two homes, plus $10 a month flagged for autopay and paperless billingMuseJason Luongo2026-09-16
  5. $1,800saveda year, auto insurance re-shoppedMuseAZ Jedi2026-09-14
  6. $1,750got backunclaimed property for a father-in-law, plus $120 a month off his billsMuseThe Money Educator2026-09-10
  7. $1,200saveda year, a forgotten $100-a-month subscriptionMuseIdobn2026-09-09
  8. $1,156saveda year, car insurance re-shoppedMuseJason Luongo2026-09-15
  9. $1,026got backa United credit after a fare dropMuseYair Savlevi2026-09-10inside Meta
  10. $954got backfrom California in a day, and $897 more for his wifeMuseEric Allen2026-09-11
  11. $800got backunclaimed property across every state lived in, overMuseLincoln2026-09-10
  12. $700savedan insurance cancellation sorted by phone, with a follow-up call promisedMuseFrank Chien2026-09-16inside Meta
  13. $300savedoff a WiFi billMuseNate2026-09-16
  14. $200got backa Verizon gift card promised at signup and never claimedMusebittermelon2026-09-17
  15. $200got backfrom an airline after a delay, by emailMuseCrux2026-09-14
  16. $200earnedin gift cards so far, from demos it bookedMusekanha korgaonkar2026-09-13
  17. $189.37got backan airline claim plus a goodwill request, filedMuseBaptiste Dubois2026-09-15
  18. $180saveda year off a Verizon Fios billMuseTodd Saunders2026-09-25
  19. $130saveda month, a Verizon bill from $516 to $386MuseWilliam Geronco2026-09-15
  20. $85.30saveda month for five years on an Xfinity billMuseraunaq2026-09-16inside Meta
  21. $50saveda hotel credit it found, on top of a direct rate he says was 5 to 10 per cent cheaper with free cancellationMuseVivek Goyal2026-09-23
  22. $50saveda month, an AT&T fibre bill from $80 on the 500 plan to $30 on the 1000 plan for 24 months, plus three months freeMuseNo Saber Ni Papa2026-09-15
  23. $40saveda month off an $80 AT&T fibre bill, plus three months freeMuseChandra Bhavanasi ⛷2026-09-14
  24. $5saveda month, a Poke subscription it singled outMusedp2026-09-15

What separates dots and Muse

Meta launched Muse on 8 September 2026 and OpenAI launched dots on 29 September. Both are the same idea: an agent with its own computer and browser that keeps working while you are not talking to it, connects to the apps you already use, and messages you first. The rows below are where they part.

Where it reaches you

dots lives in ChatGPT on desktop, web and mobile, in Slack and Microsoft Teams, and on a voice call; OpenAI says texting is coming next and does not say over what. Muse lives in WhatsApp and on the web, with an app on iOS and Android, and Meta has confirmed a Mac app with a Messages connector you have to switch on. Neither is in an iMessage thread today.

What it costs

dots comes inside a plan: your first dot is included in ChatGPT Pro, from $100 a month, and Business Premium, and OpenAI says more dots and more work per dot will be sold later. Muse is free for most of what people need, with subscription plans above it and no figure published on Meta's page.

Who can get it

dots is rolling out to Pro and Business Premium users in eligible markets, and to Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare workspaces once an admin turns it on. Muse is in the US and Canada, for people 18 and over.

Who trains on your messages

Muse states an opt-out and points at the switch in its settings. dots splits by plan: business workspaces are not used to improve models by default, personal plans follow ChatGPT's "Improve the model for everyone" setting, and background research is not trained on directly unless it is pulled into a conversation.

What it holds when you connect an account

Both keep the secret away from the model. Muse keeps credentials in your own virtual machine and describes a component whose job is to swap in the real one so the agent never sees it. dots signs in with saved passwords from an encrypted credential service and pauses the model while you type a new one.

What it asks before acting

Muse names emails and purchases, and since 29 September Meta says nothing publishes, sends or spends without approval. dots asks before any purchase with a saved card, confirms deleting data, running unknown software and granting new security access every time, hands password changes and money transfers back to you, and runs an automatic review before emails and file changes. Custom Rules can tighten it and cannot remove those steps.

What it publishes about security

Both publish a security write-up and both name prompt injection. Meta states a bounty of up to $300,000, up to $130,000 of it for a prompt injection against one user. OpenAI runs a paid bounty through Bugcrowd and its dots pages do not say whether dots is in scope.

What it will do

Both list email, payments, research, tasks, memory and code. Muse adds calendar, bookings and travel. dots adds documents and describes work that runs for days: a developer's dot turning customer feedback into tested fixes, an analysis rerun when new data arrives.

What people say about dots and Muse

dots

Muse

Praise
12
Mixed
4
Complaints
3

22 public posts about it, 3 neither for nor against.

  • “That's the most careful consumer agent sandbox I've used.”

    DJ Sampath, 2026-09-26

  • “Generally impressed that you can just do anything - it's not limited or watered down like I would have imagined”

    Wes Bos, 2026-09-24

  • “So Meta hands every Muse user a free server. Who else is willing and able to do such a thing!?”

    Andrew Freedman, 2026-09-19

The same products, against others

See every agent compared or answer five questions to narrow it yourself.