Skip to content
Messaging Agents

iMessage API providers, compared

Apple publishes no general-purpose iMessage API. There are three ways to build an agent that sends and receives blue-bubble messages: Apple’s official Messages for Business programme, which is customer-initiated and reached only through an approved provider; a managed third-party API, which operates Apple infrastructure on your behalf; or self-hosting a Mac yourself. Published prices start at $5 a month, but the headline number is rarely what you end up paying.

Why this page exists

Every “best iMessage API” comparison we could find is published by an iMessage API vendor, and their figures contradict each other. One provider’s comparison page says a rival charges a $2,000 setup fee; that rival’s own pricing page lists none. Two separate providers each state they are the only SOC 2 Type II compliant iMessage API. Both cannot be right.

Every figure below is taken from the provider’s own pricing page on 2026-09-06, and linked. Where a vendor publishes nothing, we say so rather than repeating a competitor’s number. We sell nothing here and no placement is for sale. How we source this.

The comparison

Ordered by route: Apple’s own programme first, then managed providers, then self-hosting. Not by price, not by rating, not by any relationship with us.

iMessage API providers compared by route, published price, setup fee, number model, outbound support and whether you must run a Mac
ProviderRouteFromSetupNumberOutboundYour Mac
Apple Messages for BusinessApple's official programme. Not a general agent API, and you cannot use it directly.Official AppleNot publishedNot publishedNot applicableNot supportedNo
SendblueDedicated line at $100/month with no per-message fees, but outbound messaging is Enterprise-only.Managed API$100/moFreeDedicatedEnterprise onlyNo
BlooioCheapest published entry at $39/month, but that tier puts you in a shared number pool.Managed API$39/moFreeBothIncludedNo
LoopMessageFrom $59.99/month, but the ability to message someone first is a $30/month add-on.Managed API$59.99/moNot publishedBothPaid add-onNo
Linq BlueThe deepest published feature set of any provider here, and no published price at all.Managed APINot publishedNot publishedUnknownUnknownNo
Tuco AISells the Mac bridge openly: $335 buys a dedicated Mac mini, an Apple ID and carrier KYC.Managed API$149/mo$335BothIncludedNo
PhotonCheapest route to a dedicated line's alternative: $25/month on a shared pool, $250 for a dedicated one.Managed APIFreeFreeBothIncludedNo
Claw MessengerThe only metered provider here: $5/month for 250 messages, scaling to $50 for 15,000.Managed API$5/moFreeDedicatedIncludedNo
BlueBubblesFree and open source. You supply the Mac, the Apple ID and the uptime.Self-hostedFreeNot publishedNot applicableIncludedRequired

“From” is the lowest published monthly price, which is often not the tier you need. The caveats below say why.

What the headline price leaves out

The most decision-relevant fact about each provider is usually not its price. It is what the cheapest plan quietly excludes. Below, the advertised entry price against the tier most people actually need: a number that does not change between messages, with the add-ons that make the product work.

Advertised entry priceThe tier most people need

Advertised entry price against the price of the tier most people need
ProviderAdvertisedActuallyWhy
BlueBubblesFreeFreeFree, but you supply and run the Mac.
Claw Messenger$5$5Dedicated number from the entry tier, but metered at 250 messages.
Sendblue$100$100Dedicated line included at this tier. Outbound messaging is Enterprise only, with no published price.
LoopMessage$59.99$119.99Light plan plus the phone number, SMS and RCS fallback, and conversation initiation add-ons.
Tuco AI$149$149Plus a $335 one-time setup for the Mac mini and Apple ID.
PhotonFree$250Business tier. Everything below it uses a shared managed pool.
Blooio$39$289Commercial Dedicated. The $39 tier is a shared pool where the sender number varies.

Provider by provider, the catch

What each provider’s headline price leaves out
Apple Messages for Business

Customer-initiated only. A brand cannot start a conversation, and you must reach it through an Apple-approved messaging service provider rather than building against it directly.

Sendblue

The $100 AI Agent plan is inbound-first. Full outbound messaging is listed only on the Enterprise tier, which has no published price.

Conflicting claim. A competitor's comparison page states Sendblue charges a $2,000 setup fee. Sendblue's own pricing page lists no setup fee.

Blooio

The $39 and $89 tiers use managed number pools where the sender number can change between messages. A stable number costs $289/month.

LoopMessage

Initiating conversations is +$30/month, a phone number is +$15/month, and SMS/RCS fallback is +$15/month. The headline price includes none of them.

Linq Blue

No public pricing. A competitor's comparison page puts it at roughly $250/month plus a $1,000 setup fee; Linq publishes neither figure, so treat both as unverified.

Conflicting claim. Linq states it is the only SOC 2 Type II compliant iMessage API. Sendblue separately claims SOC 2 Type II certification. Both cannot be right.

Tuco AI

Hard throughput limits: 50 new conversations and 150 messages per line per day. Higher volume means more lines, not a bigger plan.

Conflicting claim. Its pricing page says plans from $149/month; its own comparison blog lists a $59/month Mini tier. We have not been able to reconcile the two.

Photon

The free and $25 tiers use Photon's shared managed number pool. A dedicated line is $250/month, a tenfold jump. Group messaging API is unavailable on Free and only full on Business and above.

Claw Messenger

Priced by message volume rather than by line, which is the opposite model to everyone else here. Cheap at low volume and the comparison inverts as you scale.

BlueBubbles

Built to bring iMessage to Windows, Linux and Android rather than to serve production agents. There is no SLA, no support contract and no one to call.

What each one can actually do in Messages

For a consumer agent this may matter more than price. These are the iMessage-native behaviours each provider states its API can perform. A tick means the provider says so on its own docs or features page; an empty cell means it does not say, which is not the same as cannot.

iMessage-native features each provider states its API supports. A tick means the provider says so; an empty cell means it does not say.
ProviderTapbacksTyping indicatorRead receiptsGroup threadsVoice notesMessage effectsEdit and unsendRich linksLocationSMS or RCS fallback
Sendbluenot statedSendblue states Typing indicatorSendblue states Read receiptsSendblue states Group threadsnot statednot statednot statednot statednot statedSendblue states SMS or RCS fallback
Blooionot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statednot statedBlooio states SMS or RCS fallback
LoopMessageLoopMessage states TapbacksLoopMessage states Typing indicatorLoopMessage states Read receiptsLoopMessage states Group threadsLoopMessage states Voice notesLoopMessage states Message effectsnot statednot statednot statedLoopMessage states SMS or RCS fallback
Linq BlueLinq Blue states TapbacksLinq Blue states Typing indicatorLinq Blue states Read receiptsLinq Blue states Group threadsLinq Blue states Voice notesnot statednot statednot statedLinq Blue states LocationLinq Blue states SMS or RCS fallback
PhotonPhoton states TapbacksPhoton states Typing indicatornot statedPhoton states Group threadsPhoton states Voice notesPhoton states Message effectsPhoton states Edit and unsendPhoton states Rich linksPhoton states LocationPhoton states SMS or RCS fallback
Claw MessengerClaw Messenger states TapbacksClaw Messenger states Typing indicatorClaw Messenger states Read receiptsClaw Messenger states Group threadsnot statednot statednot statednot statednot statedClaw Messenger states SMS or RCS fallback

Three providers publish no feature list we could find, so they are absent rather than shown as empty rows.

If you are still choosing a route

There are three ways in: Apple’s own customer-initiated programme through an approved provider, a managed API, or a Mac you run yourself. How to build an iMessage agent covers all three, and what Apple’s terms say covers the platform risk every managed provider carries.

What to ask before you buy

  • Is the number dedicated on the plan I am pricing, or a shared pool where the sender changes between messages?
  • Does the plan I am pricing let the agent send the first message, or only reply?
  • What is the daily cap on new conversations and total messages per line?
  • Is SMS or RCS fallback included, or an add-on?
  • Whose Apple ID sends the messages, and what is the recovery commitment if it breaks?
  • Is there a contractual SLA, or an uptime figure in marketing copy?
  • If compliance matters: is the certification current, and scoped to this product?

Provider by provider

Apple Messages for Business

Official Apple. No published price. Cost comes from the messaging service provider you must go through.

This is the only route Apple actually sanctions, and it is not what most people mean by an iMessage API. A business does not integrate with it directly. It selects an Apple-approved Messaging Service Provider, and the MSP holds the connection.

Becoming an MSP yourself is a substantial undertaking: Apple's own onboarding documentation requires a messaging platform supporting asynchronous conversations and intent-based routing, a channel connector, a customisable live agent console, and bot flows to triage incoming conversations, plus a team able to integrate each brand's CRM and back-end systems.

The structural constraint matters more than the paperwork. Conversations are customer-initiated: the person messages the brand first. An agent that texts you first is not something this programme is designed to support, which is why almost every product in our [agents directory](/agents) reaches iMessage some other way. Poke's approval as the first independent third-party AI agent on the programme was notable precisely because it is so unusual.

Stated compliance: Apple-operated. Vendor claim, not verified by us.

Source checked 2026-09-06.

Sendblue

Managed API. $100/month per dedicated line on the AI Agent plan. Free sandbox with 10 verified contacts.

Sendblue publishes the clearest pricing of any managed provider we checked, and it is the one most often used as the reference point by everyone else's comparison pages.

Three tiers: a free sandbox limited to 10 verified contacts with no dedicated number and no outbound messaging; an AI Agent plan at $100 a month per dedicated line, with a dedicated number, 1,000 inbound contacts a day, webhooks, and support for media, typing indicators and reactions; and a custom-priced Enterprise tier.

The detail worth reading twice is what separates those last two. The $100 plan is described as inbound-first, and full outbound messaging appears in the Enterprise column. If your agent needs to send the first message, the published price is not the price you will pay. Sendblue states no per-message fees, no A2P registration charge, no carrier surcharges and no SMS fallback fees, and claims SOC 2 Type II certification, with HIPAA support on Enterprise.

Stated compliance: SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA (Enterprise). Vendor claim, not verified by us.

Head to headSendblue vs Blooio · Sendblue vs Claw Messenger · Sendblue vs Linq Blue · Sendblue vs LoopMessage · Sendblue vs Photon · Sendblue vs Tuco AI

Source checked 2026-09-06.

Blooio

Managed API. $39/month Starter. Dedicated lines from $289/month; Enterprise dedicated from $195/month per line at 6+ lines.

Blooio has the lowest published entry price in this comparison and the widest gap between that entry price and the price of the thing most people actually want.

The published ladder: a free trial capped at 20 messages, Starter at $39 a month, Commercial Shared at $89, Inbound at $109, Commercial Dedicated at $289 per line, and Enterprise Dedicated from $195 per line once you are buying six or more.

The distinction that matters is shared versus dedicated. Blooio's own pricing page states that the Starter and Commercial Shared tiers use managed number pools, and that the sender number may vary between messages. For a transactional notification that may be acceptable. For an agent someone is meant to build a relationship with, where the person saves the number, texts it back and expects the same thread, a number that changes between messages is a different product. That is a jump from $39 to $289, and it is the single most consequential number on this page.

No per-message fees on any plan. Custom area codes are $75 per number as a one-off.

Head to headBlooio vs Claw Messenger · Blooio vs Linq Blue · Blooio vs LoopMessage · Blooio vs Sendblue · Blooio vs Tuco AI

Source checked 2026-09-06.

LoopMessage

Managed API. Light $59.99/month up to 300 daily contacts; Regular $99.99/month up to 1,000. Shared sender from $20/month.

LoopMessage prices by unique active daily contacts rather than by messages, and unbundles more of the product into add-ons than anyone else here.

Dedicated sender plans: a free sandbox limited to 5 contacts, Light at $59.99 a month for up to 300 unique active daily contacts, and Regular at $99.99 for up to 1,000. There is also a shared sender option at $20 a month starting from 50 monthly contacts, and a free tier restricted to schools and non-profits.

Then the add-ons, which is where the comparison gets interesting. A sender name is $15. A phone number is $15 a month. SMS and RCS fallback with call forwarding is another $15 a month. WhatsApp is $10 a month. And initiating conversations, meaning the agent sending the first message, is $30 a month on top.

For a proactive agent on a dedicated number with fallback, the real monthly figure is meaningfully above the headline. Whether that is better or worse than a bundled competitor depends entirely on which pieces you need, which is the honest answer and not one any vendor comparison gives you.

Head to headLoopMessage vs Blooio · LoopMessage vs Claw Messenger · LoopMessage vs Linq Blue · LoopMessage vs Photon · LoopMessage vs Sendblue · LoopMessage vs Tuco AI

Source checked 2026-09-06.

Linq Blue

Managed API. No pricing published. Sandbox and Enterprise tiers only, with a 7-day free trial and a sales contact form.

Linq publishes the most capable feature list in this comparison and the least pricing information.

The capabilities, as stated on its own page: blue-bubble messaging, triggering tapbacks, read receipts and typing indicators, creating and managing group threads programmatically, photos, videos and voice notes, starting and scheduling FaceTime calls, RCS with automatic SMS fallback, and sharing or requesting live location through Find My. If your agent needs to feel native rather than merely functional, that is the list to compare others against.

Pricing is not published. There is a sandbox, an Enterprise tier, a 7-day trial and a form. A competitor's comparison page states roughly $250 a month plus a $1,000 setup fee. We have not been able to verify that from Linq, and we are not going to present a rival's number as fact.

Two disclosures belong on this listing. First, Linq states it is the only SOC 2 Type II compliant iMessage API, while Sendblue separately claims SOC 2 Type II certification, we report both claims and adjudicate neither. Second, Linq operates imessage.store, a competing directory of iMessage agents, which is worth knowing when reading its own comparisons of this market.

Stated compliance: SOC 2 Type II, 99.95% uptime SLA. Vendor claim, not verified by us.

Head to headLinq Blue vs Blooio · Linq Blue vs Claw Messenger · Linq Blue vs LoopMessage · Linq Blue vs Photon · Linq Blue vs Sendblue · Linq Blue vs Tuco AI

Source checked 2026-09-06.

Tuco AI

Managed API. Its pricing page headline reads from $149/month; its own blog quotes a $59/month shared Mini tier. The two do not agree.

Tuco is the most architecturally transparent provider in this comparison, and that transparency is the reason to read it even if you buy elsewhere.

Its $335 setup fee is itemised as a dedicated Mac mini, a warmed Apple ID, and carrier KYC completed in your business name. Its own marketing draws the contrast explicitly: real hardware rather than, in its words, a SaaS API on top of someone else's pool. Every line gets its own Apple ID and Mac mini, and it commits to resolving Apple ID problems within 24 to 48 hours.

That is a description of how most of this market actually works, stated plainly. When a provider quotes you a flat monthly price with no per-message fee, something is running a Mac and an Apple account somewhere, and the questions that follow apply to every managed provider on this page, not only the one that says so: whose account, what happens when it is flagged, and how quickly it is restored.

The published limits are firm: 50 new conversations and 150 messages per line per day. Scaling means buying lines. Pricing beyond the setup fee is inconsistent between Tuco's own pages, which we have noted rather than resolved.

Head to headTuco AI vs Blooio · Tuco AI vs Claw Messenger · Tuco AI vs Linq Blue · Tuco AI vs LoopMessage · Tuco AI vs Photon · Tuco AI vs Sendblue

Source checked 2026-09-06.

Photon

Managed API. Free tier at $0 (10 users, shared numbers); Pro $25/month (100 users); Business $250 per dedicated line per month; Enterprise custom.

Photon has the most generous free tier in this comparison and the widest gap between its cheap tiers and its dedicated one.

The ladder: Free at $0 with unlimited daily messages, RCS and SMS fallback, up to 10 users and shared managed numbers; Pro at $25 a month for the same iMessage capabilities with up to 100 users; Business at $250 per dedicated line per month, adding dedicated numbers, up to 50 new contacts daily for cold outreach, full group messaging API access and unlimited users; and a custom Enterprise tier described as having the lowest throttling.

It also documents an open-source path that uses your own iCloud account number rather than one of Photon's, which sits somewhere between the managed and self-hosted routes and is worth understanding before choosing either.

Two limits deserve attention. Shared managed numbers apply to everything below Business, with the same consequences described under Blooio, a sender number you do not control is a different product from one you do. And the group messaging API is unavailable on Free, limited on the open-source path, and only fully available on Business and Enterprise, which matters a great deal if the agent is meant to join group threads.

Head to headPhoton vs Claw Messenger · Photon vs Linq Blue · Photon vs LoopMessage · Photon vs Sendblue · Photon vs Tuco AI

Source checked 2026-09-06.

Claw Messenger

Managed API. Base $5/month for 250 messages; Growth $15 for 2,000; Plus $25 for 6,000; Pro $50 for 15,000; Agency $199/month per subtenant with 1,000 messages.

Claw is the odd one out, and usefully so: it is the only provider in this comparison that meters messages rather than selling a line at a flat rate.

Published tiers: Base at $5 a month for 250 messages, Growth at $15 for 2,000, Plus at $25 for 6,000, Pro at $50 for 15,000, and an Agency plan at $199 a month per subtenant including 1,000 messages. It offers iMessage, RCS and SMS through one interface, assigns phone numbers to agents, and supports tapbacks, typing indicators, read receipts, group messages and HMAC-signed webhooks.

It also states that no Mac is required and that it runs on Linux, Docker, Windows or any cloud.

The metered model changes how you compare it. At a few hundred messages a month it is by far the cheapest option here. At volume the arithmetic inverts: 15,000 messages for $50 is competitive, but a flat-rate provider with no per-message ceiling stops caring about volume entirely while Claw keeps charging. Where your usage sits on that curve decides the answer, which is exactly the kind of comparison a vendor page will not do for you.

Head to headClaw Messenger vs Blooio · Claw Messenger vs Linq Blue · Claw Messenger vs LoopMessage · Claw Messenger vs Photon · Claw Messenger vs Sendblue · Claw Messenger vs Tuco AI

Source checked 2026-09-06.

BlueBubbles

Self-hosted. Free and open source, donation-supported. The real cost is a Mac that stays online.

BlueBubbles is an open-source project that brings iMessage to Windows, Linux and Android by running a server on a Mac that already has Messages signed in. Clients ship through the Microsoft Store, Snap and Flathub, and Google Play. It is free, with donations.

It belongs in this comparison because it is the honest baseline. Every managed provider here is, at bottom, operating something equivalent on your behalf and charging for the operations, the recovery and the API surface on top. If you want to know what you are paying $100 to $289 a month for, this is it.

What you take on by self-hosting is real: a machine that must stay awake and online, an Apple account whose health is now your problem, updates that can change behaviour, and no support arrangement of any kind. That is manageable for a personal project and a poor fit for anything a customer depends on. Its documentation is oriented toward users wanting iMessage on a non-Apple device rather than toward developers building agents, so treat the API surface as something to evaluate in the code rather than from a datasheet.

Source checked 2026-09-06.

Sources

Apple Messages for Businessregister.apple.com, checked 2026-09-06
Sendbluesendblue.com, checked 2026-09-06
Blooioblooio.com, checked 2026-09-06
LoopMessageloopmessage.com, checked 2026-09-06
Linq Bluelinqapp.com, checked 2026-09-06
Tuco AItuco.ai, checked 2026-09-06
Photonphoton.codes, checked 2026-09-06
Claw Messengerclawmessenger.com, checked 2026-09-06
BlueBubblesbluebubbles.app, checked 2026-09-06

Pricing changes. Every figure here is dated. If something is out of date or wrong, tell us and we will correct it and date the change, including if you are the provider. Submit a correction.