Skip to content
Messaging Agents

dots

Livechatgpt.com

OpenAI's always-on agents, each with its own cloud computer, reached in ChatGPT, Slack and Teams

dots is an AI agent you reach on Slack, Web and Voice. To start, create an account. It messages you first rather than waiting to be asked.

SlackWebVoice
What does dots cost?
From $100 a month. below
Does dots train on my messages?
Qualified statement. the page
Is dots safe?
Holds a surrogate, never the secret for connected accounts; a security contact is published. the page
Who is behind dots?
OpenAI. below
What does dots do with my messages?
Who carries them is not published. the page
dots alternatives
8 that do a similar job. the page

How dots works

dots are OpenAI's agents, launched on 29 September 2026. Each one runs on GPT-6 Astra with a cloud computer and a browser of its own, connects to more than 4,000 apps through ChatGPT's plugins, and keeps working while you are not talking to it.

It is in this directory because of where it reaches you. You message or call it inside ChatGPT, and you can also message it in Slack and Microsoft Teams, carrying the same context across all of them. OpenAI's own page says texting is coming next and does not say over what. Until it does, the channel row here records what is stated, and iMessage, SMS and RCS are not on it.

It also messages you first, with progress, questions and decisions that need you. Between conversations it does what OpenAI calls proactive research, reading the apps you have connected through tools restricted to read-only. That work cannot send messages, change anything in those apps or drive a browser.

The work OpenAI describes is long-running. A developer's dot watches customer feedback and brings back tested fixes. A scientist's reruns an analysis whenever new data arrives. Its one example from outside the company is a tester's dot that noticed an unsent invoice, prepared it and sent it after he approved.

On control, OpenAI published a separate safety write-up on launch day. Your computer stays separate unless you choose to connect it, you can open the dot's own computer at any time to see what it did, and Activity View shows background work as it happens. Saved passwords come from an encrypted credential service and sign in without the model seeing them.

It names prompt injection, a webpage or email carrying instructions meant to redirect the agent, and says a monitoring system can pause a dot mid-task if it flags a concern.

The write-up is also specific about what a dot does without you. It can pay with a card already saved on a merchant's site, and every such purchase waits for your approval. Health data goes only to a recipient you name. Changing a password or moving money between accounts is handed back to you, and Custom Rules can tighten any of this but cannot remove those steps.

On training, the answer splits by plan. Business, Enterprise and Edu workspace content is not used to improve models by default, and personal plans follow the "Improve the model for everyone" setting. Background research is not trained on directly, though a note from it can be once it is pulled into a conversation. Disconnecting an app stops new information flowing in, and what a dot has already learned stays in its context until you reset it.

Specialist dots, set up by a company with their own identity and credentials for one job, are in enterprise pilots, and OpenAI says it is working with Microsoft to manage them through Agent 365.

What dots costs, and how you start

ChannelsSlackWebVoice
How you startCreate an account
Who starts itMessages you first
Is there an appOptional app An app exists but is not how you start
CategoriesPersonal assistants,Work
Can doEmail,Payments,Web research,Task management,Persistent memory,Writing code,Documents
Connects toNone named publicly
PricingThe first dot is included in Pro and Business Premium at no extra cost, with an allowance for deeper work. ChatGPT's pricing page puts Pro from $100 a month. OpenAI says more dots, and more speed or monthly work per dot, will be sold later, with no figure yet.
Number typeNot stated on its own pages
Contact numberNone published
DocumentationNone linked
First message, pre-writtenNone published
Runs onNot disclosed
Browses withRuns its own States it built this itself
Number carrierNo number to look up
StatusLive

Does dots train on your conversations?

Trains on your conversationsQualified statement“For personal ChatGPT plans, you control whether your dots’ conversations and the work they carry out are used to improve our models, through your “Improve the model for everyone” setting.”
Data of people who never signed upNot stated in the policy
What it holds when you connect an accountA surrogate, never the secret The credential exists and the model is never shown it“For signing into supported websites, dots can use saved passwords without exposing them to the model.”
If you cancelNot stated in the policy
Model providers namedOpenAI
JurisdictionNot stated in the policy
Security documentPublished. A write-up published at launch: a sandboxed cloud computer per dot, isolated from other users and from the systems that enforce its checks, a secure sign-in that pauses the model while you log in, an encrypted credential service for saved passwords, monitoring that can pause a dot mid-task, and a separate auto-review before actions run.
Asks before actingPurchases with a saved card need your approval. Deleting data permanently, running software from an unrecognised source and granting new security-sensitive access need confirmation every time, and changing a password or moving money between accounts is handed back to you. Custom Rules can narrow this but cannot remove those, and a separate auto-review checks emails and file changes before they run.
Prompt injectionNamed as a risk on its own pages
Bug bountyOpenAI runs a paid bug bounty through Bugcrowd, announced in April 2023 with rewards then from $200 to $20,000. Nothing on the dots pages says whether dots is in scope.
AvailabilityRolling out to Pro and Business Premium users in eligible markets. Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare workspaces get a beta once their admin enables it.
Whose hands your messages pass throughWho carries them, who runs the model, who drives the browser, and which of those dots names. With what its policy leaves unanswered, counted against the rest of the directory.

dots’s own pages answer 6 of the 9 questions this site asks of every listing. Not answered: addresses people who never signed up, says what happens if you cancel, names who carries the messages. About the middle of its kind: 29th of 56 personal assistants.

Quoted verbatim from OpenAI's safety, security and privacy write-up for dots on 2026-10-01, and what a document says is not the same as its legal effect.

Who makes dots

CompanyOpenAI
FoundersNot checked yet
Based inNot checked yet
FundingNot checked yet
InvestorsNot checked yet
TractionNot checked yet

From dots’s own pages at chatgpt.com, last read 2026-10-01.

If dots is not the one

Read a head to head
dots vs Instinctdots vs Muse
Does a similar job
VellumLindyAir by WZRDBrea
Or see the whole set
dots alternatives