Skip to content
Messaging Agents

Vellum

Livevellum.ai

An agent with its own identity and filesystem, across text, desktop and voice

Vellum is an AI agent you reach on Telegram, Slack, Email, Voice and Web. To start, create an account. It messages you first rather than waiting to be asked.

TelegramSlackEmailVoiceWeb
What does Vellum cost?
Free to start, with paid tiers. below
Does Vellum train on my messages?
States it does not. the page
Is Vellum safe?
Holds what it does not say; no security contact published. the page
Who is behind Vellum?
Vocify, Inc.; funded. below
What does Vellum do with my messages?
Who carries them is not published. the page
Vellum alternatives
8 that do a similar job. the page

How Vellum works

A personal assistant you shape: you set the personality, supply the context, and it keeps a memory of people and preferences across years. Routines and heartbeats let it work while you are away and message you with what matters. It is reachable on the web, macOS, iOS, Slack and Telegram.

It names eight model providers, which is more than double the next longest list in this directory: Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, Fireworks AI, Baseten, Atlas Cloud, Together AI and ElevenLabs, each with a link to its own privacy notice. It also lets you bring your own key, and says plainly what that changes: your data goes straight to that provider under your relationship with them rather than under Vellum's.

The training answer is a no with a switch. Data is used to evaluate and improve the systems that power Vellum and not to train models, and the collection itself can be turned off during onboarding or in settings.

On 11 September 2026 it added payments, and its documentation says how, which is rarer than the feature. The assistant pays through Stripe's Link wallet: you name a ceiling, it drafts a spend request naming the merchant, the amount and what for, you approve in the Link app, Link issues a single-use virtual card for that amount, and the assistant completes the checkout without ever seeing your saved cards. The launch thread shows an office assistant ordering a $32.19 lunch and the approval card it produced. It is the third listing here to name Stripe Link, and the first whose docs describe the approval step to the field.

The operating company is Vocify, Inc., which appears nowhere on the product pages. Worth stating for anyone checking our record: an enterprise platform for building and evaluating LLM applications also trades as Vellum, and a search for the name mostly returns that company rather than this one. The two are different companies.

What Vellum costs, and how you start

ChannelsTelegramSlackEmailVoiceWeb
How you startCreate an account
Who starts itMessages you first
Is there an appOptional app An app exists but is not how you start
CategoriesPersonal assistants,Work
Can doEmail,Calendar and scheduling,Phone calls,Writing code,Web research,Persistent memory,Task management,Payments
Connects toGmail, Google Calendar, Slack, Telegram, Stripe Link
PricingA free tier with a paid plan at $30 a month.
Number typeNot stated on its own pages
Contact numberNone published
Documentationvellum.ai/docs
First message, pre-writtenNone published
Runs onNot disclosed
Browses withNot disclosed
Number carrierNo number to look up
StatusLive

Does Vellum train on your conversations?

Trains on your conversationsStates it does not“including evaluating and improving the systems that power Vellum, but do not use it to train AI models. You can opt in or out of this collection at any time during onboarding or in Settings > Permissions & Privacy.”
Data of people who never signed upNot addressed
What it holds when you connect an accountNot stated in the policy
If you cancelNot stated in the policy
Model providers namedAnthropic, OpenAI, Google, Fireworks AI, Baseten, Atlas Cloud, Together AI, ElevenLabs
JurisdictionUnited States. Vocify, Inc. is the operator, with US state privacy rights and an advertising disclosure.
Security documentPublished. A trust and security section in its documentation: OS-level sandboxing that fails closed, a keychain-backed credential vault the model never reads, inbound messages scanned for secrets, and a permissions model enforced outside the AI, which it says leaves no way to prompt-inject past a permission boundary.
Asks before actingEvery tool carries a risk level, low, medium or high; a risk tolerance from Strict to Full access decides which prompt for approval, and high-risk actions always do unless set to Full.
Prompt injectionNamed as a risk on its own pages
Bug bountyNone published
Who is on the lineThe agent
Calls from its own numberNot stated on its pages
Says it is software on the callNot stated on its pages
Records the callNot stated on its pages
AvailabilityNot stated
Whose hands your messages pass throughWho carries them, who runs the model, who drives the browser, and which of those Vellum names. With what its policy leaves unanswered, counted against the rest of the directory.

Vellum’s own pages answer 6 of the 9 questions this site asks of every listing. Not answered: says what happens if you cancel, names who carries the messages, says where to report a bug. About the middle of its kind: 37th of 56 personal assistants.

Quoted verbatim from the published policy on 2026-10-03, and what a document says is not the same as its legal effect.

Who makes Vellum

CompanyVocify, Inc.
FoundersNot published
Based inNot published
FundingNot published. Its own site names no company entity, no founders and no round, and an unrelated developer platform of the same name is easily mistaken for it.
InvestorsNot published
TractionNot published

From Vellum’s own pages at vellum.ai, last read 2026-09-10.

In its own words

What Vellum and its founders have posted: launches, features and claims, recorded as what the product says about itself.

  • 2026-09-11vellum Vellum adds payments through Stripe's Link wallet: the assistant sends a spend request naming the merchant, the amount and the purpose, the user approves it in Link, Link issues a single-use virtual card for that amount, and the assistant checks out without seeing any saved card. The thread shows an office assistant buying a $32.19 lunch in New York and the approval card, and the company's docs page on agentic payments describes each step, including that the amount the user names is the most the assistant will ever request.

    vellum

    @vellum_ai · 2026-09-11

    Give your assistant a wallet you control with @link 💳 Link handles the credentials + approvals, and vellum gives you the control layer on top: 1/ see exactly what your assistant is doing 2/ capture every edge case so it gets better over time Works best with Quality mode.

    Screenshot posted by vellumScreenshot posted by vellum
    VellumThe company49 likes · 25k viewsRead it

    The third listing to name Stripe Link and the first to publish, in documentation rather than a post, what happens between the ask and the charge: a ceiling, a request, an approval, a one-use card. Muse and Tomo name the same rail and describe less. It also arrived in a Friday-afternoon thread with 25 likes, which is why the launch watch exists.

If Vellum is not the one

Does a similar job
dotsNotisZo ComputerBrea
Or see the whole set
Vellum alternatives