The first independent third-party agent approved on Apple Messages for Business
Poke is an AI agent you reach on iMessage, WhatsApp and Telegram. To start, create an account. It messages you first rather than waiting to be asked.
How Poke works
Poke launched in March 2026 from a ten-person team in Palo Alto and reached hundreds of thousands of users and over 100 million messages, at roughly $1.4M ARR.
On 8 September 2026, a year after Poke was first shown publicly, its founder said on X that people had exchanged over 200 million messages with it, with millions more each week. That is roughly 550,000 messages a day averaged across the year.
What it does not settle is how hard anyone is using it: the company describes its user base only as hundreds of thousands, and at either end of that phrase the same 200 million works out anywhere between one message per user per day and five. The arithmetic is on their two published numbers, and the gap between those answers is the reason a message count on its own tells you very little.
Its significance to anyone building on this channel is regulatory rather than technical: it was the first independent third-party AI agent approved on Apple's Messages for Business, a programme that is otherwise invite-only and closed to new partners. It was acquired by Cognition in a low nine-figure deal four months after launch, with Cognition's founders having been angel investors.
On 11 September 2026 the notice gained a section on Google user data, the first change since June: Gmail and Calendar are accessed only with authorisation and the narrowest scopes, stored only as long as the feature needs, never sold or used for advertising, and not read by a person except with agreement, for security, or under law. It is the Google API Services User Data Policy's Limited Use language, which any product connecting Gmail has to carry to keep its access, and it is more specific about Google's data than the notice is about your messages. The diff is on the changelog.
Read again in September. The privacy notice covers The Interaction Company of California Inc. and all of its brands rather than Poke specifically, which is why several rows here stay empty on a document of forty-six thousand characters: it names Stripe for payments and no model provider, no messaging provider and no retention period. For a product that is given access to your inbox, those are the three worth having.
What Poke costs, and how you start
| Channels | iMessageWhatsAppTelegram |
|---|---|
| How you start | Create an account |
| Who starts it | Messages you first |
| Is there an app | Optional app An app exists but is not how you start |
| Categories | Personal assistants |
| Can do | Email,Calendar and scheduling,Reminders,Travel,Web research,Task management |
| Connects to | Gmail, Google Calendar, Outlook, GitHub, Strava, Navan, Oura, Philips Hue, Sonos |
| Pricing | Free tier; Pro $19/month; Ultra $199/month |
| Number type | Apple Messages for Business |
| Contact number | None published |
| Documentation | poke.com/docs |
| First message, pre-written | None published |
| Runs on | Linq (on Linq's customer logo wall for the iMessage API) (source) |
| Browses with | Not disclosed |
| Number carrier | No number to look up |
| Status | Acquired |
Does Poke train on your conversations?
| Trains on your conversations | Yes, with opt-out“Improve and customize our products and services...including to train our artificial intelligence models. Data from users who select Maximum Privacy will not be used for model training” |
|---|---|
| Data of people who never signed up | Not addressed“We may receive personal data from our other customers. For example, a customer's email inbox may contain your contact information.” |
| What it holds when you connect an account | Not stated in the policy |
| If you cancel | No period stated. Modification and deletion are on request, and the policy notes it may not be able to do either in all circumstances. |
| Model providers named | None named |
| Jurisdiction | California, US. The operator is The Interaction Company of California Inc., and the notice covers Interaction's brands rather than Poke alone. |
| Security document | None published |
| Asks before acting | Nothing published |
| Prompt injection | Not mentioned anywhere public |
| Bug bounty | None published |
| Availability | Not stated |
Poke’s own pages answer 7 of the 9 questions this site asks of every listing. Not answered: names its model providers, says where to report a bug. About the middle of its kind: 23rd of 56 personal assistants.
Quoted verbatim from the published policy on 2026-09-11, and what a document says is not the same as its legal effect.
Who makes Poke
| Company | The Interaction Company of California, acquired by Cognition |
|---|---|
| Founders | Marvin von Hagen, Felix Schlegel |
| Based in | Palo Alto, California |
| Funding | $25M total: a $15M seed led by General Catalyst at a reported $100M valuation on launch day, then $10M in April 2026 co-led by Spark Capital and General Catalyst at a $300M post-money valuation. Acquired by Cognition in July 2026 for an undisclosed sum. Source: General Catalyst |
| Investors | General Catalyst, Spark Capital, Village Global, Earlybird VC |
| Traction | Several thousand beta users and half a million messages at launch, hundreds of thousands of users and over 100 million messages in the three months before the acquisition, and over 200 million messages exchanged in total by 8 September 2026, a year after it was first shown |
From Poke’s own pages at poke.com, last read 2026-09-10.
