Charges for proactivity rather than capacity, at $35 or $49 a month
Martin is an AI agent you reach on iMessage and SMS. To start, create an account. It messages you first rather than waiting to be asked.
How Martin works
Martin is "a Jarvis you can text." Its pricing is the notable part: $21 a month billed yearly, or $35 monthly, buys limited proactive actions, and $30 or $49 buys unlimited, with deeper memory sold as a further upgrade.
That means the metered resource is the agent reaching out to you, not the volume of work it does, one of two products in this directory that independently arrived at charging for proactivity rather than capacity. For anyone modelling revenue on a messaging agent, that convergence is a signal worth taking seriously.
Reported at its seed announcement as available through an iOS app and a web interface, so the app is a way in rather than the way in.
Read again in September. The operating company is DCWU, Inc., which the product pages never mention, and the privacy notice is dated September 2024, the second oldest here. It names OpenAI as its AI service provider and states that Google Workspace data is not used to develop, improve or train any model, generalised or otherwise, and is never passed to a third-party AI tool for training.
There is still no security contact and nothing that says who carries the messages.
What Martin costs, and how you start
| Channels | iMessageSMS |
|---|---|
| How you start | Create an account |
| Who starts it | Messages you first |
| Is there an app | Optional app An app exists but is not how you start |
| Categories | Personal assistants |
| Can do | Email,Calendar and scheduling,Reminders,Task management,Phone calls |
| Connects to | Slack |
| Pricing | Basic at $21 a month billed yearly or $35 monthly, with limited proactive actions and two tasks at a time; Pro at $30 a month billed yearly or $49 monthly, with unlimited proactive actions and custom tasks. Seven days free. |
| Number type | Not stated on its own pages |
| Contact number | None published |
| Documentation | docs.trymartin.com |
| First message, pre-written | None published |
| Runs on | Not disclosed |
| Browses with | Not disclosed |
| Number carrier | No number to look up |
| Status | Live |
Does Martin train on your conversations?
| Trains on your conversations | Qualified statement“our app does not use any google user data for developing, improving, or training ai and/or ml models” |
|---|---|
| Data of people who never signed up | Not addressed |
| What it holds when you connect an account | Not stated in the policy |
| If you cancel | Some information may be retained to prevent fraud, troubleshoot, assist investigations or comply with legal requirements. No period stated. |
| Model providers named | OpenAI |
| Jurisdiction | United States. State privacy rights are listed, and California is addressed only to say Do Not Track signals are not honoured because no standard exists. |
| Security document | None published |
| Asks before acting | Nothing published |
| Prompt injection | Not mentioned anywhere public |
| Bug bounty | None published |
| Who is on the line | The agent |
| Calls from its own number | Yes, stated |
| Says it is software on the call | Not stated on its pages |
| Records the call | Not stated on its pages |
| Availability | Not stated |
Martin’s own pages answer 7 of the 9 questions this site asks of every listing. Not answered: names who carries the messages, says where to report a bug. More than most of its kind: 18th of 56 personal assistants.
Quoted verbatim from the published policy on 2026-09-10, and what a document says is not the same as its legal effect.
Who makes Martin
| Company | DCWU, Inc., trading as Martin |
|---|---|
| Founders | Dawson Chen, Ethan Hou |
| Based in | Not published |
| Funding | $2M seed, announced by the company. Y Combinator backed. Source: trymartin.com |
| Investors | Pioneer Fund, FoundersX Ventures, Eight Capital, SV Tech Ventures, Splash Capital |
| Traction | Not published |
From Martin’s own pages at trymartin.com, last read 2026-09-10. Which apps it works in is inferred from its descriptions; it does not list them.
