Skip to content
Messaging Agents

Iris

Liveirischat.ai

A private confidant you text about your own mind, non-clinical by its own description

Iris is an AI agent you reach on iMessage. To start, text a number. It replies when asked and does not start conversations.

iMessage
What does Iris cost?
Not published. below
Does Iris train on my messages?
Qualified statement. the page
Is Iris safe?
Connects no account, so it holds no login of yours. the page
Who is behind Iris?
IrisChat; funded. below
What does Iris do with my messages?
Who carries them is not published. the page
Iris alternatives
8 that do a similar job. the page

How Iris works

Support at three in the morning, in the thread people already use at three in the morning. Iris describes itself as a non-clinical companion rather than as therapy, which is the distinction that matters and the one this listing records rather than assesses. The number is published and answers without an account.

Two things in the policy are worth having in front of you before the first message. It states that Iris includes automated features meant to detect crisis-related content and show mental health resources, and then says those systems are not guaranteed to catch everything and that you should not rely on Iris to recognise or respond to an emergency. It also lists session monitoring tools among the parties that receive data, to support the quality and safety of AI interactions, which means somebody or something other than the model may read the thread.

Its AI providers are barred from retaining the data or training on it, and none of them is named. The policy carries an unfilled placeholder where the effective date should be, so there is no date to record and no way to tell when any of this last changed.

Who is behind it is stated in one line on a page most readers will not reach: Iris is created by a Flagship Pioneering company, the venture firm best known for founding Moderna. Nothing else about the company, the founders or the money is published, and neither is a price.

Agentcard, a wallet built for agents, names Iris among the products it is trusted by on its own front page, which is the only public statement about how Iris would pay for anything; nothing on Iris's pages says so, and the capability row stays as Iris states it.

One word in its privacy policy changed between 10 and 17 September 2026. The sentence that said "AI companion services, including IrisChat, may not be suitable for minors" now says "AI thought partner services". Companion is the word California's SB 243 is written around, and the listing records the change without saying why it was made.

What Iris costs, and how you start

ChannelsiMessage
How you startText a number
Who starts itOnly when asked
Is there an appNo app Nothing to install at any point
CategoriesCoaching
Can doPersistent memory
Connects toNone named publicly
PricingNot published anywhere on either of its sites.
Number typeNot stated on its own pages
Contact number+1 646 204 6494
DocumentationNone linked
First message, pre-writtenNone published
Runs onNot disclosed
Browses withNot disclosed
Number carrierNot looked up
StatusLive

Does Iris train on your conversations?

Trains on your conversationsQualified statement“AI technology providers — to deliver conversational AI features; these providers are prohibited from retaining your data or using it to train their models”
Data of people who never signed upNot applicable
What it holds when you connect an accountNothing Connects no third-party account
If you cancelNot stated in the policy
Model providers namedNone named
JurisdictionUnited States. California CCPA and CPRA rights are set out, and the service is stated to be unsuitable for anyone under 18.
Security documentNone published
Asks before actingNothing published
Prompt injectionNot mentioned anywhere public
Bug bountyNone published
A user in crisisA published protocol. A Safety Protocol page describing automated crisis detection and referral, in accordance with applicable law; no statute named and no date on the page.
AvailabilityNot stated
Whose hands your messages pass throughWho carries them, who runs the model, who drives the browser, and which of those Iris names. With what its policy leaves unanswered, counted against the rest of the directory.

Iris’s own pages answer 4 of the 9 questions this site asks of every listing. Not answered: publishes a price, says what happens if you cancel, names who carries the messages, names its model providers, says where to report a bug. Fewer than most of its kind: 8th of 9 coaching.

Quoted verbatim from the published policy on 2026-09-17, and what a document says is not the same as its legal effect.

Who makes Iris

CompanyIrisChat
FoundersNot published
Based inNot published
FundingNot published. Its own page states it was created by a Flagship Pioneering company.
InvestorsFlagship Pioneering
TractionNot published

From Iris’s own pages at irischat.ai, last read 2026-09-10.

If Iris is not the one

Does a similar job
BoBoskiMochiNudge
Or see the whole set
Iris alternatives